The Lineage of Kenting Tai Situpa | The current Kenting Tai Situpa | Active Peace | Interfaith Dialogue | Monasteries and Centers | News | Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning | PAVA Online |
Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters ~


Image from: Thangkha from Palpung Sherabling.
Please, when using any picture from this website, give source as -

Arya Nagarjuna received the Mahamudra transmission from Saraha and numerous other teachers. Kapimala, a great meditation master, also taught Nagarjuna. Nagarjuna was predicted by the Buddha Shakyamuni in the Lankavatara sutra:

"In Vedaili, in the southern part, a monk most illustrious and distinguished will be born; his name is Nagahvaya. He is the destroyer of one-sided views based on being and non-being. He will declare my vehicle, the unsurpassed Mahayana, to the world; attaining the stage of Joy, live for over six hundred years and he will go to the Land of Bliss."

Nagarjuna and his teachings are the forefront of Mahayana Buddhism. He is considered a patriarch in all the Mahayana schools. He commentated on the Prajnaparamita Sutras, and elucidated the Middle Way rejecting all opposites and dualistic views. He is credited with rediscovering the hidden treasures of the Buddha, which included the Prajna Paramita and Avatsamsaka Sutras. These sutras were under the protection of the nagas, serpent like dragons.

Nagarjuna is one of the 84 mahasiddhas in India. Nagarjuna also had many extraordinary abilities, such as changing ordinary phenomena into gold. He perfected longevity practice, thereby living for centuries in India.


Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning~~

Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters

01 Vajradhara

01 Tilopa

01 Naropa

02 Lodro Rinchen

03 Saraha

04 Nagarjuna

05 Shawaripa

06 Maitripa

07 Marpa

08 Milarepa

09 Gampopa

10 The 1st Karmapa

11 Drogon Rechen

12 Pomdrakpa

13 The 2nd Karmapa

14 Orgyenpa

15 The 3rd Karmapa

16 Gyalwa Yungtonpa

17 The 4th Karmapa

18 The 2nd Shamar Rinpoche

19 The 5th Karmapa

20 Rigowa Rinjung (Ratnabhadra)

21 The 6th Karmapa

22 Bengar Jampal Sangpo

23 The 1st Gyaltsab Rinpoche

24 The 7th Karmapa

25 The 1st Sangye Nyenpa Rinpoche

26 The 8th Karmapa

27 The 5th Shamar Rinpoche

28 The 9th Karmapa

29 The 6th Shamar Rinpoche

30 The 10th Karmapa

31 The 7th Shamar Rinpoche

32 The 11th Karmapa

33 The 8th Shamar Rinpoche

34 The 12th Karmapa

35 The 8th Kenting Tai Situpa

36 The 13th Karmapa

37 The 10th Shamar Rinpoche

38 The 9th Kenting Tai Situpa

39 The 14th Karmapa

40 The 1st Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

41 The 15th Karmapa

42 The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa

43 The 2nd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

44 The 16th Karmapa

There are many reference sources for this catagory. Please kindly advise us if there is copyright issue or mistake.
[email protected]

Palpung Sherabling Monastic Seat

P.O. Upper Bhattu Via Baijnath - 176125, Distric Kangra, Himachal Pradesh 176-125, India
TEL:(91)1894-209093 (91) 1894-209088S