The Lineage of Kenting Tai Situpa | The current Kenting Tai Situpa | Active Peace | Interfaith Dialogue | Monasteries and Centers | News | Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning | PAVA Online |
Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters ~

The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa - Pema Wangchok Gyalpo

Image from: Thangkha from Palpung.
Please, when using any picture from this website, give source as -

The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa (1886-1952) was born in the male fire dog year in Lithang. There were many unusual and highly auspicious signs at that time. The 15th Gyalwa Karmapa drew a map describing the place Kenting Tai Situpa reborn. The map was so detailed that even a dog tethered in front of the house was drew. Pema Wangchog was found absolutely accurate according to the prediction of the Gyalwa Karmapa. At the age of four years, he was recognized by the Gyalwa Karmapa and taken to the great Palpung monastery.

From Khakyab Dorje, the fifteenth Karmapa, he received ordination and teachings. The second Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche also taught and bestowed many empowerments on him.

The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa renovated thoroughly the main shrine and shedra of Palpung monastery, expanded the printing press and produced many new printing plates. He also made many fine dresses for Lama Dances.

Kenting Tai Situpa was renown to be a strict disciplinarian, enforcing monastic rules and harshly punishing those who were hypocrites or damaging their practice. He closely guided the various satellite monasteries of his in Tibet. He traveled to and taught at over one hundred and eighty monasteries, all which were guided by him. All these activities and the merits of Kenting Tai Situpa brought huge offerings and assets to Palpung Monastery. These assets include horses, sheep, yaks, salt lake...etc. Some group, including Nyingma school and Bon school, even donated their monasteries as offerings. As a result, Kenting Tai Situpa became responsible for recognizing the monasteries' tulkus.

Kenting Tai Situpa was held by all with great respect, awe, admiration and fear. After the 15th Karmapa's passing, the Karmapa's attendant Jampal Tsultrim hid for months believing that Kenting Tai Situpa would punish him. However, the attendant finally revealed that he possessed the sacred letter of prediction, which matched exactly with the proceedings Kenting Tai Situpa was already undertaking to find the 16th Karmapa Rangjung Rigpe Dorje.

Kenting Tai Situpa later recognized the sixteenth Gyalwa Karmapa, Rangjung Rigpe Dorje, and performed his enthronement and ordination. He transmitted the complete teachings to him and bestowed all the initiations, explanations and empowerments.

At about the age of fifty he visited the great Surmang monastery, and performed there many miracles. Kenting Tai Situpa spent the rest of his life partly in meditation and partly giving teachings to his many disciples. At the age of sixty-seven, he passed away amidst many auspicious signs.

After the 11th Kenting Tai Situpa's passing, Karmapa Rangjung Rigpe Dorje wrote in a poem praising the Kenting Tai Situpa, "May we meet again and again." The Karmapa's aspiration came true, as the 12th Kenting Tai Situpa was found and became the disciple of the 16th Karmapa. And again, later on, the 17th Karmapa was found and became the disciple of the 12th Kenting Tai Situpa.

His Holiness the Sixteenth Karmapa, and Situ Pema Wangchuk Gyalpo, together with high ranking reincarnate lamas of Palpung on the occasion of His Holiness's visit to Palpung Monastery in 1937.

H.H the 16th Karmapa (left) and the 11th Kenting Tai Situpa.


Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning~~

Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters

01 Vajradhara

01 Tilopa

01 Naropa

02 Lodro Rinchen

03 Saraha

04 Nagarjuna

05 Shawaripa

06 Maitripa

07 Marpa

08 Milarepa

09 Gampopa

10 The 1st Karmapa

11 Drogon Rechen

12 Pomdrakpa

13 The 2nd Karmapa

14 Orgyenpa

15 The 3rd Karmapa

16 Gyalwa Yungtonpa

17 The 4th Karmapa

18 The 2nd Shamar Rinpoche

19 The 5th Karmapa

20 Rigowa Rinjung (Ratnabhadra)

21 The 6th Karmapa

22 Bengar Jampal Sangpo

23 The 1st Gyaltsab Rinpoche

24 The 7th Karmapa

25 The 1st Sangye Nyenpa Rinpoche

26 The 8th Karmapa

27 The 5th Shamar Rinpoche

28 The 9th Karmapa

29 The 6th Shamar Rinpoche

30 The 10th Karmapa

31 The 7th Shamar Rinpoche

32 The 11th Karmapa

33 The 8th Shamar Rinpoche

34 The 12th Karmapa

35 The 8th Kenting Tai Situpa

36 The 13th Karmapa

37 The 10th Shamar Rinpoche

38 The 9th Kenting Tai Situpa

39 The 14th Karmapa

40 The 1st Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

41 The 15th Karmapa

42 The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa

43 The 2nd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

44 The 16th Karmapa

There are many reference sources for this catagory. Please kindly advise us if there is copyright issue or mistake.
[email protected]

Palpung Sherabling Monastic Seat

P.O. Upper Bhattu Via Baijnath - 176125, Distric Kangra, Himachal Pradesh 176-125, India
TEL:(91)1894-209093 (91) 1894-209088S