The Lineage of Kenting Tai Situpa | The current Kenting Tai Situpa | Active Peace | Interfaith Dialogue | Monasteries and Centers | News | Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning | PAVA Online |
Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters ~


Image from: Internet

Maitripa (1010-1089) is an important figure both in mahayana and vajrayana Buddhism. It is through him that Maitreya and Asanga's crucial work on Buddha nature, the Uttara Tantra Sastra, became widely followed in Tibet. He also transmitted the esoteric aspect of Buddha nature, embodied in the mahamudra teachings, which treat the topic of mind in great detail and provide a wide range of progressive, highly-refined meditations. He was brought to his own enlightenment through mahamudra under Savari and, most importantly, became the guru of Marpa, the Tibetan forefather of the Kagyu lineage.

It is said that he had been a student of Naropa, when the latter was head of Nalanda monastic university. Later he had spent time at Vikramasila, which was enjoying its zenith of fame. The great Atisa was its head of discipline. Despite knowing Maitripa's pre-eminence as a scholar and yogin, he was obliged to expel him when his yogic activities (involving alcohol and a woman) caused gossip. The monastic community only realized their loss when Maitripa showed his realization by the miracle of using a small leather cushion as a boat to cross the nearby Ganges. Thereafter he lived the life of a mahasiddha and it was during that time that he took Savari as his guru.

Such anecdotal stories are interesting but in many ways detract from the spiritual immensity of someone such as Maitripa, whose purity of mind and breadth of dharma were to leave an impact for thousands of years. We feel something of his immensity in the biography of his student, Marpa, who is overwhelmed with bliss at the mere thought of him.


Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning~~

Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters

01 Vajradhara

01 Tilopa

01 Naropa

02 Lodro Rinchen

03 Saraha

04 Nagarjuna

05 Shawaripa

06 Maitripa

07 Marpa

08 Milarepa

09 Gampopa

10 The 1st Karmapa

11 Drogon Rechen

12 Pomdrakpa

13 The 2nd Karmapa

14 Orgyenpa

15 The 3rd Karmapa

16 Gyalwa Yungtonpa

17 The 4th Karmapa

18 The 2nd Shamar Rinpoche

19 The 5th Karmapa

20 Rigowa Rinjung (Ratnabhadra)

21 The 6th Karmapa

22 Bengar Jampal Sangpo

23 The 1st Gyaltsab Rinpoche

24 The 7th Karmapa

25 The 1st Sangye Nyenpa Rinpoche

26 The 8th Karmapa

27 The 5th Shamar Rinpoche

28 The 9th Karmapa

29 The 6th Shamar Rinpoche

30 The 10th Karmapa

31 The 7th Shamar Rinpoche

32 The 11th Karmapa

33 The 8th Shamar Rinpoche

34 The 12th Karmapa

35 The 8th Kenting Tai Situpa

36 The 13th Karmapa

37 The 10th Shamar Rinpoche

38 The 9th Kenting Tai Situpa

39 The 14th Karmapa

40 The 1st Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

41 The 15th Karmapa

42 The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa

43 The 2nd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

44 The 16th Karmapa

There are many reference sources for this catagory. Please kindly advise us if there is copyright issue or mistake.
[email protected]

Palpung Sherabling Monastic Seat

P.O. Upper Bhattu Via Baijnath - 176125, Distric Kangra, Himachal Pradesh 176-125, India
TEL:(91)1894-209093 (91) 1894-209088S