The Lineage of Kenting Tai Situpa | The current Kenting Tai Situpa | Active Peace | Interfaith Dialogue | Monasteries and Centers | News | Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning | PAVA Online |
Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters ~


Image from: Book 84 mahasiddhas in India published by Dharma Eyes Publication~

Mahasiddha Savari (Shawaripa) is one of the 84 mahasiddhas in India. He was guided to liberation by Nagarjuna, from whom he received the complete teachings of mahamudra. According to certain traditions, Savari later received this same quintessential dharma directly from the bodhisattvas Ratnamati and Sukhanatha, and also from Saraha, at the mountain retreat of Sriparvata (i.e. Nagarjunakonda in South India). Savari means "hill-person" and the few biographical fragments we have of Savari's life describe him sometimes as a hunter and sometimes as a dancer.

The hunter Savari is said to have met bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, who wagered his boast of being able to kill 100 animals with one arrow against a promise from Savari to abstain from hunting for one month. Avalokitesvara killed the 100 animals (which were in fact his emanations) with a single shot. After the month of not killing, Savari and his wife were shown their terrible future rebirth, created by all they had killed. Shocked to see their own future suffering in hell-realms, they became devoted tantric Buddhists.

The Mahasiddha and his wife became quickly enlightened through the instructions of Saraha, the Bodhisattvas Ratnamati and Sukhanata, and the guidance of Nagarjuna. He practiced in many caves in India, and received visions of deities such as the Six-arm Mahakala. The practice of Vajrayogini was a major contribution of Shawaripa towards the lineage.


Mahamudra Ocean of Definitive Meaning~~

Karma Kagyu Refuge Tree Masters

01 Vajradhara

01 Tilopa

01 Naropa

02 Lodro Rinchen

03 Saraha

04 Nagarjuna

05 Shawaripa

06 Maitripa

07 Marpa

08 Milarepa

09 Gampopa

10 The 1st Karmapa

11 Drogon Rechen

12 Pomdrakpa

13 The 2nd Karmapa

14 Orgyenpa

15 The 3rd Karmapa

16 Gyalwa Yungtonpa

17 The 4th Karmapa

18 The 2nd Shamar Rinpoche

19 The 5th Karmapa

20 Rigowa Rinjung (Ratnabhadra)

21 The 6th Karmapa

22 Bengar Jampal Sangpo

23 The 1st Gyaltsab Rinpoche

24 The 7th Karmapa

25 The 1st Sangye Nyenpa Rinpoche

26 The 8th Karmapa

27 The 5th Shamar Rinpoche

28 The 9th Karmapa

29 The 6th Shamar Rinpoche

30 The 10th Karmapa

31 The 7th Shamar Rinpoche

32 The 11th Karmapa

33 The 8th Shamar Rinpoche

34 The 12th Karmapa

35 The 8th Kenting Tai Situpa

36 The 13th Karmapa

37 The 10th Shamar Rinpoche

38 The 9th Kenting Tai Situpa

39 The 14th Karmapa

40 The 1st Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

41 The 15th Karmapa

42 The 11th Kenting Tai Situpa

43 The 2nd Jamgon Kongtrul Rinpoche

44 The 16th Karmapa

There are many reference sources for this catagory. Please kindly advise us if there is copyright issue or mistake.

Palpung Sherabling Monastic Seat

P.O. Upper Bhattu Via Baijnath - 176125, Distric Kangra, Himachal Pradesh 176-125, India
TEL:(91)1894-209093 (91) 1894-209088S